On Gear Live: Apple Changes the Mac Forever, iOS 14, and more w/ Guest Mark Gurman!

Latest Gear Live Videos

Wednesday November 17, 2010 5:04 am

Roy Halladay wins second Cy Young in unanimous decision

Posted by Adrien Griffin Categories: Athletes, MLB,

Roy HalladayAs predicted by many as soon as he first donned his Phillies uniform, Roy Halladay has won the National League Cy Young Award. Was there any doubt? Apparently not among voters. Halladay was a unanimous decision, picking up all 32 first-place votes for a total of 224 points. St. Louis’s Adam Wainwright finished in a distant second with 122 points while two-time defending NL Cy Young winner Tim Lincecum – whose Giants defeated Halladay’s Phillies in the postseason – was 11th in voting with two measly points.

This is just the next step in what’s almost assuredly a Hall of Fame career. Halladay has already won an AL Cy Young with Toronto in 2003; he’s a seven-time all-star and of course, we all watched as he threw just the 20th perfect game in MLB history on May 29 and his playoff no-hitter on Oct. 6, although that one didn’t count as voting occurred before the postseason. He is only the fifth pitcher to ever win AL and NL hardware and the 16th to win either league’s award multiple times.

Still, you have to think Halladay should have even more Cy Young’s. He finished second to Cliff Lee in 2008, thanks largely due to Lee’s 22-3 record. Lee showed some dominance that season, but that and his 2.54 ERA were the only relevant categories in which he topped Halladay in. Halladay had more complete games, innings pitched, strikeouts, and strikeouts per nine innings, a better WHIP and strikeout to walk ratio. Lee outscored Halladay 132 points to 71.

Next on Halladay’s baseball bucket list is a World Series ring. He took his talents to Philly hoping that they could put a team around him that Toronto wasn’t capable of; one that could make the postseason. He got his wish, but his Phillies fell to the pressure. But they’ll be back. They’re quickly establishing a reputation as a powerhouse in the National League, and with a two-time Cy Young winner leading the charge, they’re sure to be many peoples’ favorite for next year.



Commenting is not available in this channel entry.