On Gear Live: Windows 10: Microsoft previews the next iteration of Windows

Wednesday February 29, 2012 5:05 pm

How to delete your Google Web History before tomorrow’s privacy policy change


Posted by Andrey Malskiy Categories: Features, Google, Internet


Google privacy changeOn March 1st (that's tomorrow!), Google will be changing its privacy settings. The changes will unify all Google services under one umbrella, as far as privacy is concerned. In other words, what you search for on YouTube will be accessible by Google Search, and all other Google services. As of today, all your site and search history stayed sandboxed within the specific services that you used. Tomorrow, that'll be a different story.

Your search and activity history can obviously reveal a lot of personal data that you may not want Google to know. Things like medical conditions, location, personal habits, and more. That said, there are a few easy steps you can take to keep your search history private and outta Google’s reach. Taking these steps does not prevent Google from gathering and storing this information internally, and doesn't change the fact that this information can be requested and possibly turned over to law enforcement for legal matters. However, what it does do is make it so that Google anonymizes the information after 18 months, and that Google doesn't use your web history to offer you customized search results. With Web History enabled, Google will keep your records indefinitely. Keep on reading for a walkthrough!


1. Sign into your Google Account 

2. Go to https://www.google.com/history

3. Click "Remove all Web History"

4. Click "OK"

Do note that removing your web history also pauses Google from collecting any future web history as well, and that you can unpause it at any time.

Latest Gear Live Videos

Advertisement

Advertisement

Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Advertisement