Help!! Itune not reconzing IPOD!!!
Posted: 28 September 2004 12:48 PM     [ Ignore ]  
I've Only Posted Once!
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2004-09-28

I once had a problem where I installed itunes and used my old 3rd gen ipod and it would work fine for it, then when I plugged in my new 4th gen 20 gig which I got for free, it would not sync, yet it would display the “Do Not Disconnect” screen forever; it wouldn’t go away. Finally I uninstalled both itunes and ipod updater and reset my 4th gen, then reinstalled itunes and the ipod updater fresh, then plugged in the 4th gen and it worked. I have service pack 2 so syncing does work with 4th gen ipods. For those of you with the do not disconnect glitch, I’d try holding menu and the select button (middle button) to restart it to see if it syncs. If not, disable the ipod then disconnect it and wipe itunes and ipod updater completely. Make sure nothing ipod related is on there, and yes, this will mean you will have to put songs back in to your itunes. After that, reinstall fresh and then follow directions exactly like the booklet that your ipod says. Install itunes, then connect your ipod when a message tells you that it has to configure it. Do so, then it should bring you to itunes and it should recognize it. If not, then I’d try syncing on service pack 1.

Profile
 
Posted: 28 September 2004 12:48 PM   [ # 1 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
I've Only Posted Once!
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2004-09-28

i installed the install cd n all the stuff from the HP CD but itune not seeing the ipod wut should i do?  :?  :cry:

Profile
 
Posted: 28 September 2004 02:21 PM   [ # 2 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  377
Joined  2004-07-30

on my laptop it takes like 40 sec for it to recognize it either u need to wait a little longer or my laptop is really crappy

Profile
 
Posted: 04 October 2004 05:41 AM   [ # 3 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
I'm A Regular
Total Posts:  746
Joined  2004-12-28
[quote author=“Crzy1”]i installed the install cd n all the stuff from the HP CD but itune not seeing the ipod wut should i do?  :?  :cry:

umm, try again?

Profile
 
Posted: 04 October 2004 02:04 PM   [ # 4 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
You > Me
Total Posts:  93
Joined  2004-08-26

that happened to my friends ipod the day he bought one, so we went back to best buy and they gave him a new one, no strings attached.

of course, they had to test that it wasnt working, and made sure it was the same ipod that the box said, but yea, they were just doing that to make sure you didnt have a broken ipod bought somewhere else and brought it there with a new reciept to get your money back.

Profile
 
Posted: 10 October 2004 02:18 PM   [ # 5 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Initiation
Total Posts:  33
Joined  2004-09-06

Try putting it in disk mode.  Do you have a 4th or third gen?

Profile
 
Posted: 26 October 2004 05:27 AM   [ # 6 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
You > Me
Total Posts:  66
Joined  2004-09-01

my computer recognizes it, but it says i need to format it or sumthin??? should i do that???

Profile
 
Posted: 26 October 2004 05:28 AM   [ # 7 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  2441
Joined  2004-12-21

Of course. You need to format it before you can use it.

 Signature 

Gear Live Media Network:
Gadgets, Games, Television, Sports, Food, Social Media, Seattle Mind Camp, Andru, Apps

Profile
 
Posted: 26 October 2004 05:29 AM   [ # 8 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
You > Me
Total Posts:  66
Joined  2004-09-01
[quote author=“AndruGearLive”]Of course. You need to format it before you can use it.

:oops:


:D

Man it’s been Formating for like 5 minutes and is only half way done. is that normal???

Profile
 
Posted: 30 October 2004 05:39 PM   [ # 9 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
Initiation
Total Posts:  33
Joined  2004-09-06
[quote author=“Pusha C”][quote author=“AndruGearLive”]Of course. You need to format it before you can use it.

:oops:


:D

Man it’s been Formating for like 5 minutes and is only half way done. is that normal???

Probably. Depends on the HD size.

Profile
 
Posted: 30 October 2004 11:25 PM   [ # 10 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]  
You > Me
Total Posts:  66
Joined  2004-09-01
[quote author=“TheRoni”][quote author=“Pusha C”][quote author=“AndruGearLive”]Of course. You need to format it before you can use it.

:oops:


:D

Man it’s been Formating for like 5 minutes and is only half way done. is that normal???

Probably. Depends on the HD size.

NM, I canceled the formating then closed iTunes and opened it back up and it recognized it within 10 seconds

Profile
 
Posted: 05 November 2004 10:22 AM   [ # 11 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]  
Initiation
Total Posts:  46
Joined  2004-11-02

mine never recognized it no matter what i did , i had to return and get a new one :D

Profile
 
Posted: 05 November 2004 12:12 PM   [ # 12 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  252
Joined  2004-11-02

uh oh, but you can send me your ipod and i’ll check it out :wink:

Profile
 
Posted: 05 November 2004 02:01 PM   [ # 13 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]  
Initiation
Total Posts:  40
Joined  2004-09-28

Yeah, one of my iPods did that one day.  I sent it into Apple and they sent me a new one.  They have a good turnaround time.

Profile
 
Posted: 05 November 2004 07:46 PM   [ # 14 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]  
Hi...I'm New...
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2004-07-19

try resetting your i-pod. that might fix it,

Profile
 
Posted: 06 November 2004 04:44 AM   [ # 15 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]  
Board Mentor
Total Posts:  3690
Joined  2004-12-22

if u have issues, just reinstall teh itunes software…when u run teh install file, it will recognize that you already have itunes and run a repair, which will fix everything. its worked on both my laptop and desktop.

Profile
 
Posted: 09 November 2004 04:48 PM   [ # 16 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]  
Initiation
Total Posts:  46
Joined  2004-11-05

does the screen have the menu or the battery charging (of the ipod)
if its the menu, its not hooked up right.
if its the battery, put the cd in and it should fix everything for you.

Profile