Faster live speeds
Posted: 05 October 2007 09:58 PM     [ Ignore ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  154
Joined  2007-04-26

Ok so my home network is running from a fiber optic cable that runs to my router which is located upstairs in my house.  My room however where all gaming takes place is downstairs, and I want to know what will let me have faster online speeds while playing the xbox and PC.  I wanted to know if I should get a faster router with a broader range, or if I should ask for more bandwidth on the provider side.  My current router is a D-Link DI-614+.  Any help here would be great, as I want to be the best I can be when playing on live.  Also, before anyone asks, no I can not lay wires all the way to the basement of my house.  Yes I know that would give me the fastest speeds, but it just can’t be done.

Profile
 
Posted: 05 October 2007 10:08 PM   [ # 1 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  338
Joined  2007-04-26

check http://www.speedtest.net to see what you are getting.

190387133.png

Profile
 
Posted: 05 October 2007 11:16 PM   [ # 2 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  154
Joined  2007-04-26

190395558.png

and that is that…

Profile
 
Posted: 06 October 2007 02:42 AM   [ # 3 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  149
Joined  2007-06-18

Not sure how much your PC is used at the same time as your Xbox, but here’s what I did….

My wife is on the PC all the time. I’m on Xbox Live all the time. So being the sneaky guy I am,
I bought one of those D-Link Gaming routers. I told it to give Xbox Live network traffic the priority.
Suddenly, my multiplayer games ran buttery smooth and my wife was complaining that the internet
was running slow. Hehehehee.

Profile
 
Posted: 06 October 2007 05:27 AM   [ # 4 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  322
Joined  2007-04-26

The D_Link I had sucked A$s. Now I have this Netgear Range Max, and I haven’t had any problems with it. That D_Link was to glitchy.

190455773.png

Thats my speeds. The one end sucks ballz thanks to Comcast, or should I say Crapcast.

Profile
 
Posted: 06 October 2007 07:32 AM   [ # 5 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Initiation
Total Posts:  23
Joined  2007-06-08

This is mine:

190485687.png

[ Edited: 06 October 2007 07:35 AM by Gamer Advent]
Profile
 
Posted: 06 October 2007 05:06 PM   [ # 6 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  149
Joined  2007-06-18

190605281.png

Profile
 
Posted: 06 October 2007 10:07 PM   [ # 7 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  415
Joined  2007-04-26

lol, I like how this has turned into “How fast is your connection?”

I would recommend a new router, but only because I hate D-Links. They never work for me. Ever. I use a LinkSys WRT54GS. It’s never failed me, and I usually get pretty good ping on Live.

Profile
 
Posted: 07 October 2007 12:31 AM   [ # 8 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  154
Joined  2007-04-26

thanks guys, I think I am going to go with the route that Hyper suggested and see what happens.  Thanks again for the input.

Profile
 
Posted: 07 October 2007 05:03 AM   [ # 9 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  338
Joined  2007-04-26

Another thing if you are wanting a router that plays nice with Live, get a router that is certified for use on Live!.

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/connecttolive/xbox360/homenetworking/equipment.htm

I have a Linksys WRT150N and it works like a dream with no adjustments to ports, DMZ, etc.

Profile
 
Posted: 07 October 2007 05:23 AM   [ # 10 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  149
Joined  2007-06-18
Maj Malfunction - 07 October 2007 05:03 AM

Another thing if you are wanting a router that plays nice with Live, get a router that is certified for use on Live!.

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/connecttolive/xbox360/homenetworking/equipment.htm

I have a Linksys WRT150N and it works like a dream with no adjustments to ports, DMZ, etc.


Oh, and that D-Link Gaming Router I mentioned above (DGL-4100) is on that certified list.

Profile
 
Posted: 07 October 2007 08:34 AM   [ # 11 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]  
In The Club
Total Posts:  415
Joined  2007-04-26

My router is also on the Live Certified list. No messing with anything, either. It’s pure plug and play.

Profile