Need help of a software that can be used at my school
Posted: 01 June 2008 02:47 PM     [ Ignore ]  
Initiation
Total Posts:  23
Joined  2008-05-31

This question might sound silly but I am going to ask it anyway.  I am a teacher assistant for a middle high school (12 and 13 year olds).  Lately the students newest thing is to dump all the desktop icons into the trash and empty the trash.  Then when another student logs on all the icons are gone and they have to log off and I have to log on as administrator and put them back on the desktop for all users.  This is really getting on my nerves as it is happening everyday and I can not catch the person(s) that are doing this.  Is there a software that will allow a sound if a student tries to move the desktop icon or if they try to erase it?  I was thinking of eliminating the trash can completely but I think they will then just continue to delete the icons regardless of no trash bin.

Any help would be appreciated.  Again I am sorry if this request sounds stupid but you try and do what I do all day and have this consistently happen and you have to restore everything, I guarantee your patience would get really thin.

Thank you in advance for any ideas.

Posted: 01 June 2008 03:32 PM   [ # 1 ]     [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Initiation
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2008-06-01

Sure, I just happen to be one of those pesty 14 year olds that replaces the internet shortcut with one that would… say shutdown the computer. Anyway, my science teacher uses a program called Deep Freeze that restores the computer back to it’s original state as soon as you restart it.

Then if YOU want to change something, you just Shift + Double Click the little polar bear in the system tray (where the clock is). It will bring up a password box and you just type the password for the program, tell it to “thaw on next restart” and restart the computer.