1 2 > 
1 of 2
Xbox 360 Giveaway: Design A Videogame!
Posted: 24 May 2006 04:10 PM     [ Ignore ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  2574
Joined  2004-12-22

How long does this contest run? Also, will you be choosing the winner based solely on the quality of the game? I have no game programming experience and only basic C++ programming knowledge. I would really hate to invest time and energy into something like this when a professional programmer will come along at the last minute and easily claim the prize as his own. I was originally considering doing your build-a-website contest, but I got bogged down with other things and never got around to doing it. I’m glad I didn’t, though, because my site could have never come close to the one made by the winner. I think that in the future you should try to make your contests more open to everyone. I’m not asking that you make it so that any Joe Schmo could come on the site, register, win, and never come back again - that would be pointless. Instead, you might come up with ideas that will let you give away a 360 but get people excited about Gear Live and get them more involved in the site.

Perhaps you could make the rules where a person might have to make a few quality (as judged by you, of course) comments or forum posts a day. I don’t post on the comments or forums too often because I’m not usually inclined to do so, but something like a contest that rewarded leaving thoughtful comments would certainly inspire me to do so. It would also definitely help the site get more active and bring in readers. I love this site, partially because of the feel of it - while you report on gadgets and technology, you aren’t pompous and don’t do things in an industrial manner like some other tech blogs. Instead, you try to deliver good content that the readers will like, and I appreciate that.